ABC Heart of America's Excellence in Construction (EIC) Awards Banquet is designed to publicly recognize the outstanding performances in merit shop construction, top-ranking safety and quality programs, and the teams building some of the most notable & groundbreaking projects in the region.

This year's ABC Heart of America Excellence in Construction Awards Banquet was held on Friday, November 3, 2017 at Arrowhead Stadium’s North Club in Kansas City, MO.

Click below to view all the photos from this year's EIC Awards Banquet:

Like what you see? Head over to our Facebook page to 'like' 'share' & 'tag' all the photos!

Excellence in Construction Award Winners

Safety Award Recipients

Three Top Safety award winners were recognized in general contracting, subcontracting and the overall Ted Anerdson Superior Safety Award. These three awards were selected by the ABC Safety Council members by reviewing data provided from all Safety Training and Evaluation Process (STEP) applications including Experience Modification, number of Employees, Hours Worked, Total OSHA recordable incident rates, and the number of lost work day cases.

General Contractor Safety Award
Herzog Contracting Corp.

Subcontractor Safety Award
Shawhan Sheet Metal LLC

Ted Anderson Superior Safety Award
Wachter, Inc.

The STEP Award levels are achieved by meeting the criteria requirements of total recordable incident rates, experience modification rates and key components. The STEP program was developed by ABC National as a systemized approach to analyze and further develop member companies' safety and loss prevention programs. 

Diamond STEP Award Recipients
  • Fogel-Anderson Construction Co.
  • Nabholz Construction
  • Shawhan Sheet Metal LLC
Platinum STEP Award Recipients
  • American Boiler & Mechanical
  • ARCO National Construction - KC
  • Bart's Electric Company, Inc.
  • Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc.
  • hth companies, inc. 
  • Industrial Construction & Engineering Co.
  • Killian Construction Co./KCC Contractor, Inc.
  • Robinson Construction
Gold STEP Award Recipients
  • Crossland Construction Co., Inc.
  • Crossland Heavy Contractors, Inc.
  • Division 7, Inc. 
  • Herzog Contracting Corp.
  • Lee Mechanical Contractors 
  • Neighbors Construction Company, Inc.
  • Prosser Wilbert Construction, Inc.
  • Schultz Brothers Electric Co.
  • Teague Electric Construction, Inc. 
  • Thermaltech, Inc. 
  • Tradesmen International
  • Wachter, Inc. 
Silver STEP Award Recipients
  • AMF Electric, Inc.
  • Chief Heating & Cooling, Inc. 
  • Dahmer Contracting Group
  • Electrical Associates
  • Excel Constructors, Inc. . 
  • HarenLaughlin Construction 
  • LBA Mechanical
  • Mega Industries Corporation 

Project Entry Award Winners

The Excellence in Construction Project entry winners were selected by a panel of judges who reviewed the project entries explaining safety practices, innovative solutions, and unique challenges among other judging criteria.  The highest scoring projects received the Subcontractor Project of the Year and General Contractor Project of the Year. 

General Contractor Project of the Year Award

Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc.
South Lawrence Trafficway

Subcontractor Project of the Year Award 

hth companies, inc.
Owens Corning Thermafiber Project

Subcontractor Award Winners

Electrical Commercial/Institutional 
Under $250k

Teague Electric Construction, Inc.
Veterans Outreach Center

Electrical Commercial/Institutional 
Over $750k

Westhues Electric, Inc.
Lenexa Civic Center

Electrical Industrial
Over $750k

Wachter, Inc.
Midwest Farmers Coop Rail Shuttle Facility


JPI Glass
KU Health Education Center

Mechanical Commercial/Institutional
Under $250,000

Thermaltech, Inc.
University of Missouri Columbia - Softball Stadium

Mechanical Industrial
Under $750,000

American Boiler & Mechanical
Center Ethanol, 9 Cooling Tower Install

Mechanical Industrial
Over $750,000

hth companies, inc.
Owens Corning Thermafiber Project


Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc.

Turner Commerce Center & Amazon Fulfillment Center

General Contractor Award Winners

$5-$10 Million

Fogel-Anderson Construction Co.
Cosentinos Market at Bluhawk

Over $10 Million

Neighbors Construction Co., Inc.
Kansas city Power & Light - North Building


Excel Constructors, Inc.
The Sheridan at Overland Park

Historical Renovation/Restoration

Neighbors Construction Co., Inc.
Kansas City Power & Light - Tower Building

Under $5 Million

Lee Mechanical Contractors, Inc.
Argos Harleyville - Clinker Cooler Bag Filter

Infrastructure: Heavy

Emery Sapp & Sons, Inc. 
South Lawrence Trafficway

Under $5 Million

Fogel- Anderson Construction Co.
Journey Church International

Over $5 Million

Crossland Construction Company, Inc.
Raymore-Peculiar High School Addition and Renovation

Public Works/Environmental

Mega Industries Corporation 
Nelson Complex WWTP Handling Improvements


Excel Constructors, Inc.
Vista 154 at Ironhorse

Anniversary Award Recipients

Thank you to those members who celebrated their anniversary with ABC Heart of America on Friday, November 3, at the Excellence in Construction Awards Banquet: 

35 Year Anniversary
  • Lockton Companies
  • Teague Electric Construction, Inc.
30 Year Anniversary
  • Century Concrete, Inc.
25 Year Anniversary
  • Herbster Hellweg Painting Co.
  • Lee Mechanical Contractors, Inc.
20 Year Anniversary 
  • Ace Electric - Jones Company, Inc.
  • Al J. Mueller Construction Co.
  • Schutte Lumber Company
  • Strickland Construction Company
  • Torgeson Electric Company
15 Year Anniversary 
  • Boone Brothers Roofing, Inc.
  • Brinton Electric Co., Inc.
  • Eiberger Construction, Inc.
  • K G Moats and Sons Engineering Inc.
  • K.D. Christian Construction, Inc.
  • Palmer Electric Company
  • Rodina Company, Inc.
  • Spacemark, Inc.
  • St. Louis Paving, Inc.
  • Western Enterprise, Inc.
10 Year Anniversary
  • Crossland Construction Co., Inc.
  • Electrical Associates
  • KASA Electric
  • Pro Circuit, Inc.
  • S & S Electrical Contracting, LLC
5 Year Anniversary
  • 2Point Construction Co., LLC
  • Brauer Supply Company
  • Clearview Enterprises, LLC
  • DeVault Construction
  • DG Electric
  • GMP Plumbing
  • Gold Mechanical, Inc.
  • Killian Construction Co./KCC Contractor, Inc.
  • Mid-Continental Restoration Co., Inc.
  • MJC Electric Co. LLC
  • Progressive Environmental & Safety
  • Sunshine Electronic Display

Specialty Award Winners

Arthur C. Waugh Keystone Award

Tim Paulson was the recipient of the 2017 ABC Heart of America Chapter Arthur C. Waugh Keystone Award. Tim was recognized for his exemplary leadership and service to the industry and members of the ABC HOA. Tim has been instrumental in positioning ABC HOA for future success with much of his efforts focused on membership, branding, and leadership development. 

Freedom Fighter Award

Kelly Waymon was the recipient of the 2017 Freedom Fighter Award  in recognition  of his long, documented history as an advocate for the merit shop construction industry. Always willing to show up where needed, Kelly is eager to engage others in the political process as well as have the tough conversations to ensure that the needs of merit shop contractors are heard. 

2017 Excellence in Construction Awards Banquet Program

Please click below to take a look at the program from our 2017 Excellence in Construction Awards Banquet:

2017 Excellence in Construction Awards Banquet Sponsors - Thank You!

Thank you to all the tremendous sponsors that helped make this year's Excellence in Construction Awards Banquet possible!